Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Taking today and tomorrow off. That doesn’t mean I won’t write…but it does mean that my top priority will be visiting family, overindulging, wrapping & opening presents, staying up late watching for Santa, and basically, soaking in the holiday before it’s gone for another year.

I had a lovely Christmas Eve…toasting mimosas at breakfast with a best friend, bringing Indian take-out to my husband at his office, delivering presents to family, and attending Christmas Eve mass…it wasn’t Midnight Mass but I still made it. Now, I’ve finished wrapping the last of the presents, and am about to put my pajamas on and mince pies in the oven.

It’s at times like these that I am painfully aware of how blessed I am. Life doesn’t make sense…it’s cruel and unfair to so many. So tonight, as I’m warm, safe, and loved…the Christmas spirit all around me…more than anything else, I will keep in my heart those we are suffering, alone, and hopeless. I do believe in the magic of Christmas and I wish it all for them.

Here’s to one last sweet sleep before Christmas morning.

