Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

As promised, here I am…very early, while it’s still dark…and a little worse for wear. Land-living is keeping me busy! In fact, I found myself wondering this week how I ever managed to write a daily blog. In reality, I’m probably not any more busy than I ever was. Well, perhaps a little…

Last weekend was one of my husband’s bike events. This one he helped plan and coordinate with other members of the community as a way to raise money and awareness for our County’s homeless population. As part of it, he also had to ride 100 miles in 100 degree heat! My job was not quite so difficult…though I ate as if I cycled 100 miles as well…setting up and breaking down rest stops, making peanut butter and jelly sandwiches, directing the cyclists on the course, and being your all-around cheerleader. This week, amongst vet appointments, electrical work, and preparing for an upcoming trip, I also attended my Orientation at the Red Cross, which took place in Napa. I was heartened to learn of the many opportunities that exist to volunteer and help with ongoing disaster relief needed for the Valley Fire. All I have left to do now is interview with the placement person, get my background check completed, and find some time!

Being busy with all these wonderful things is wreaking havoc on my writing…it is also made torturous with the arrival of Autumn. All I want to do is be at home, puttering around in baggy sweaters with a cup of coffee, listening to classical music, and decorating the house. Well, that, or I desperately want to be in Oxford wearing cute boots and jackets, headed to the library for the day, then the pub in the evening. A beautiful picture of the Bodleian Library in Oxford now serves as my desktop wallpaper at work. I’m not sure this is the best idea as it seems to increase the longing, daydreaming, and wistful sighing. As for Autumn, though busy, I was able to welcome it in at its exact arrival at sundown, which found me zipping between towns on a dark country road. The sunset was so beautiful I had to pull over and take a picture. I saw at least five other cars do the same along the way. As I told one friend, the Autumn faerie folk outdid themselves this year. And I wasn’t able to prepare a Mabon feast as I like to do, but I toasted the season with my first pumpkin spiced latte of the season and gave thanks for the bounty and beauty of nature. You take what you can get, right?

Tonight I’m attending a long-awaited Titanic-themed tea party…to include costumes…and then the weekend is equally full of adventures…all to be reported on next week.

And how is the future website / blog going, you ask? Well, I now have a short list of WordPress themes to evaluate, so that’s some progress. I just need some creative, quiet time at home to work on it…and finish that novel! I’ve vowed not to book another outing, dinner, commitment in October. So I’m hoping by my most favorite holiday…and the Celtic New Year…I will be ready to launch it and start sending out the novel to agents! Lofty goals, I know, but as the saying of disputed origin goes…

Shoot for the moon. Even if you miss, you’ll land among the stars

