Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

The journey has come to an end. There’s only time for one last post before crew and cargo are disembarked.

I can’t believe we did it!

I remember how frightened I was a year ago, making this commitment. I remember how a few months in I wanted to quit. Last night I said to my husband, “Only one post left. I know I keep talking about this, but I still can’t believe it.” He was amazing in his response: “Are you kidding? This is huge. How many of us say we’re going to do something for a whole year and actually stick with it. And you did it through hell and high-water.”

Besides feeling immense pride at this accomplishment, I feel a huge amount of gratitude…to all my family and friends, to all my followers, to every person who encouraged me and took an interest along the way. I never expected all this support. I did this blog to force my own hand. The community that developed around me as a result was an unexpected and added blessing. Thank you for your comments, your kindness, your shares, your likes, your time. You made this journey better than I ever thought it could be!

On day one of “Living as a writer for 365 days…”  I broke a metaphorical bottle of champagne against the metaphorical hull of this ship. Tonight I’m drinking metaphorical champagne (since it’s actually Prosecco) and marking the end of an amazing, momentous, literally (in so many ways) life-changing journey.

But it’s also a beginning…

For those who have asked, this blog isn’t going anywhere. It will remain available for viewing and posterity. But what may happen over the next month is that it will be linked to a new blog. Expect to see a “Coming Soon…” notice go up on the hull of this ship in the next few days. It will give some brief details of the new blog idea that has been tumbling around in my head over the last month, and the promise that I will contact each and every one of my followers personally when it’s ready.

So, before we make our way down that ramp and finally step onto the pier, let’s raise a glass and bid each other, in the words of Garrison Keillor, “Be well, do good work, and keep in touch.”

Last day

