Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One tart, to be specific…and 95 pages of monsters, courtesy of the British Library and my trip to Copperfield’s on Friday night.

IMG_8420

Today I had the honor of experiencing inspiration of a slightly different sort than usual. We woke up at 5 a.m. and made our way downtown to the start of the 7th Annual Santa Rosa Marathon to cheer on a family friend. Three hours later we were back at the finish line cheering all the athletes across the finish line.

There’s something awesome about a person who’s completed a marathon…the lean fit, bodies who win, definitely…but more so, for me, the bodies of all different shapes and health, many of whom have just fulfilled a lifelong dream and may never do it again. They set their mind on a goal and as hard as it was, as long as it took, through literal sweat and pain, they achieved it. That’s determination…that’s saying, “I want this and I’m not going to let anything stop me”…that’s showing up to your dream everyday. It was a humbling and great reminder.

And then I received a lovely email from a long ago friend who has kindly started reading my blog. She shared the following quote with me and it resonated…

Discipline is not a restriction but an aid to freedom.

~ Wayne Thiebaud

As I move forward this week, coming out of a weekend of facing truths and wanting to improve, I send gratitude to my friend and I’m going to keep these words and those marathoners in mind.

