Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

My day of research was not only successful but enjoyable…San Francisco is one of my favorite cities in the world, after all. I got up and got myself organized, then headed out with my bag of supplies and some good music on the car stereo.

It’s fortuitous that I did return to the Wells Fargo Museum to do a little follow-up research…as well as soak in the ambience, since a chapter is set there…because they have completely remodeled it. The new interactive exhibits and docents were wonderful, but the life-size cardboard cutout of Black Bart is gone! Black Bart, the famous stagecoach robber who humiliated Wells Fargo and its agents for almost fourteen years, has a big role in my book, as well as his cardboard cutout. I was so disappointed to find Black Bart gone, I marched over to the docents and demanded to know what they’d done with him. They blamed it on the curator keeping exhibits fresh and new. I can understand that, but I decided then and there that I’m keeping him in the book…when it’s published and wildly successful and everyone goes there to see him, they’ll have to bring him back out.

I also searched out Black Bart’s place of residence in San Francisco during the mid-1800s, the Webb Hotel at 37 Post Street, where now stands a Peet’s Coffee…and spent some time clicking up the marble staircase in Tiffany’s and sitting in the sunshine in Union Square…two other places featured in my book.

Unfortunately, the traffic on the way home exhausted me, so I will be putting all my research to use in my chapter revisions tomorrow, when I’m refreshed.

Preparing for my research exhibition...

Preparing for my research exhibition…

The impressive stagecoach in the museum...

The impressive stagecoach in the museum…

The stagecoach featured in the early 20th century Chicago World Fair...and one of S.F.'s famous hearts, this one covered in coins...

The stagecoach featured in the early 20th century Chicago World Fair…and one of S.F.’s famous hearts, this one covered in coins…

Had lunch with all the bankers at Bamboo Asia...opted for the Vietnam bar...

Had lunch with all the bankers at Bamboo Asia…opted for the Vietnam bar…

The Goddess of Victory watching over Union Square...

The Goddess of Victory watching over Union Square…

