Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

There is nothing like that moment went you turn the cover to open a book…not just any book but a long-anticipated book that you know is filled with magic, adventure, wonder…all the things you crave. And there it is, at your fingertips…451 pages of it.

At these moments, I’m reminded of Bastian in The NeverEnding Story. How he takes the mysterious book to the forgotten school attic on that rainy day, cracks it open to read, and finds himself transported to another world and unimaginable adventures.

I always wanted that to happen to me, and to some degree, every time I open a book it does. It happened today. I started Katherine Neville’s novel, The Fire…the sequel to The Eight…another tale of chess, history, and intrigue. Time to buy some more Chessman cookies!

IMG_2405

