Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Do you ever wish your life was filled with magic…adventure…new wonders? Most of us must, otherwise there wouldn’t be such a high demand for characters like Harry Potter, Lara Croft, and Indiana Jones. Which brings me to the conclusion that I’m not alone in wanting these things.

Lately, I’ve been feeling like I’m walking through life in shoes that don’t fit. Or maybe I’m wearing the wrong shoes for the setting I’m in. Do I change my shoes…or do I change my setting? Am I being deliberately vague and metaphorical? Yes. Writing about these feelings always makes me feel like an ingrate. But I’m trying not to censor myself. That’s what today is about…saying whatever I want, doing whatever I want. I left my laptop at home and brought a couple books to work instead. I got some junk food. I sat outside at lunch time and watched hummingbirds chase each other around.

A great thing that did happen today is that my book was discussed by a class! Some may recall that I was asked to be a guest lecturer in the summer class a friend is teaching. Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to get the day off. So instead, she decided to teach my book and I bravely handed over the first six chapters. It’s not even published and she reported it’s being discussed in classes like real literature!  The best part…the students liked it. I so appreciated the texts she sent me throughout the day showing what the students were putting up on the board as they analyzed Elle’s character. I’ve seen my first reader depictions of Elle!

Elle

I can’t tell you how it warmed my heart! And then I got flowers and a card from a class of students at work.

See why I feel like an ingrate when I imply…even metaphorically…that my life isn’t filled with enough magic…adventure…and new wonders? I know it’s all a matter of perspective. It’s just these damn shoes keep bugging me!

