Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Big decision of the day. I have decided to join the Northern California chapter of Sisters in Crime…for a whopping $25! I can’t believe what a bargain it is; Redwood Writers is $60 for a year’s membership. And in reviewing the Sisters in Crime website yesterday, I recognized many names from the times I attended Book Passage’s Mystery Conference…as well as from mystery books I’ve read. I’m joining the pack!…the pack I belong to…the murder & mayhem pack.

Now, I’m also debating whether or not I should renew my membership with Redwood Writers when the time comes. I think it is beneficial, as it’s my home turf group, but it’s only worthwhile if I go to the meetings and participate in the events, which I have been remiss in lately. Ironically, I did just get an email…tonight…from the Secretary of our chapter reminding us of how the California Writers Club began. It read…

The California Writers Club (CWC) formed in the Oakland Hills in 1909 when world-famous author Jack London, poet George Sterling, short story writer Herman Whitaker, Oakland and California’s first public librarian and California’s first poet laureate Ina Coolbrith, and others met for informal literary and artistic salons on lands that are today’s 500-acre Joaquin Miller Park located above Highway 13.

The CWC, one of the nation’s oldest professional writing clubs, incorporated in Oakland in 1913. Since then, the CWC has grown to include a Central Board and 20 branches with nearly 1,750 members. Redwood Writers was established in 1975 as the 4th branch–we now have 275 members, the largest!

It really does seem a shame to drop out of a club started by Jack London! After all, if we’re speaking of wolves and packs, then this timely email seems to be indicating that I should stay with the Redwood Writers as well.

