Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You know that chapter I was going to finish Thursday, come Hell or high water?

Still working on it.

Nothing to be done but keep trudging ahead. You can’t put time limits on creativity. (That’s probably what George R.R. Martin’s thinking right now.) Actually, you can put time limits and you should…or you’ll keep changing the same paragraph, same word forever. Thankfully, that’s not what I’m doing. I’m just trying to reveal the story at the right pace…not so much the mystery, but the backstory. And that’s what’s been tricky about this chapter. How much to reveal to provide character motivation and story interest but not overwhelm the reader?

I feel, as I revise this book, like Mr. Bilbo Baggins with the Merry Band of dwarves as they make their way to the Lonely Mountain and keep getting waylaid by misadventure. But each time, come spiders or goblins or wood elves, they sort it out and continue on…no matter how challenging it is or how long it takes.

I may be singleminded in the days to come…my writerly tasks might mostly be the thoughts and actions that surround getting this book done. If that’s what it takes, then that’s what it takes. Just like Bilbo Baggins, I’ll keep trudging along. I’ll be up at dawn tomorrow and back at it…come spiders or goblins or wood elves.

