Tags

, , , , , ,

I recently mentioned that when this particular blog ends, I am considering a blog that is about saying Yes to the many things that might come my way over the course of a year. Funnily enough, more than one person expressed concern and thought this might be a bad idea. They gave some legitimate reasons as to why, but it mostly confirmed that I needed to better define what I meant by this idea.

As it turns out, one of my favorite writers, Deborah Harkness, did just that on her website which features an interview with the following question and answer…

Q. If you could give just one piece of advice to an aspiring author, what would it be?

A. “Say yes.” The world is asking you to try new things, have fresh experiences, meet people, see foreign places, and learn things. Most of the time we say no. Say yes. Go for it. Try. Live. Dream. Refuse to be negative. Be generous with your own time and gifts. See what happens then.

That’s the spirit of what I meant. Not that I would say “yes” to absolutely everything that was suggested to me…”fries with that?” “do you like that person?” “shall we skip the movie?” I’ll still say no to things I don’t like or absolutely don’t want to do or don’t agree with. But perhaps it would push me to say “yes” to those big, scary life opportunities that the Universe sends our way and we are often too frightened to do…or I would say “yes” to mundane, everyday sorts of opportunities…volunteering, helping, giving…that I might normally say no to for selfish reasons. I’m talking about saying yes to those things we often already know we should, but talk ourselves out of.

