Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

It is the eve of the weekend…if you can call an afternoon an eve..because technically the weekend starts at five o’clock…today. I’m looking forward to it. I can’t exactly attest to all the writerly deeds I will do, but I can say that I will continue working through my book, send my letter off to Gigi Pandian (because she is the oh-so-inspiring writer), and attend this weekend’s Redwood Writers chapter meeting.

Today, I did make some headway at the library, using the online tours to familiarize myself with all the search features, and how best to access material. I know this may seem like small potatoes, but I need those small potatoes to make big, glorious things…like potatoes au gratin, or pommes frites, or potato pancakes.

Tonight I will attempt the next exercise in Julia Cameron’s, The Right to Write, and my husband and I will continue our adventure with Bilbo Baggins. I’ve never read the The Hobbit, and last weekend after watching the first film installment of the three-part adaptation, my husband was so disappointed he is making us “read” (in the form of an audio book) it instead. We just entered the Misty Mountains and escaped the goblins, and I’m anxious to get back to our merry band.

And with that I will leave you with a rather appropriate quote which I’ve saved on my phone for the longest time.

We were talking of dragons, Tolkien and I in a Berkshire bar. The big workman who had sat silent and sucked his pipe all the evening, from his empty mug with gleaming eye glanced towards us; ‘I seen ’em myself!’ he said fiercely.

~ C.S. Lewis

