Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I’m going to keep this short because my brain and arm are officially done for the day.

I’ll start with what made the biggest impression on me at my new job today…they were the most welcoming Department and genuinely made me feel like a part of the team…right from the start. Of course, internally, I alternated all day between, “I’m so excited…this is amazing!” and “What was I thinking?!…I don’t know anything!” But that’s to be expected.

Given the challenge of parking at the Junior College, I was grateful for the amazing spot I found this morning…I was honored when the Dean treated me to lunch…I was touched by all the welcoming emails and calls I got (even from a VP!)…and I thoroughly enjoyed my co-workers. I just hope I can do all this justice…and look forward to the day when I help more than I ask questions. Right now, however, my tactic is to not think about it too much. I’m going to take it a day at a time and not put too many expectations on myself…like coming home and cooking, cleaning or even writing anything impressive. And I’m going trust it’ll get easier and I will be good at this…eventually!

Now, I’m pouring myself a glass of wine and curling up with the Book Passage Newsletter.

First day done!

