Tags

, , , , , , ,

I’ve been reading a book, recommended by one of my favorite authors, for a few months now…and I cannot get through it!

I’m 133 pages in and I feel like I’m still waiting for the story to start…for the characters to grab me…for things to make sense. But I’m starting to think I’ve waited too long and this is the book…it’s time to accept it for what it is.

My natural inclination is to soldier on, even if I find little enjoyment and could be spending the hours reading other books. Then my mom said to me today, “Stop…read something you want to read.” Believe it or not, it took me aback. I thought to myself…people actually do that? Well, of course, I know they do, but the writer in me feels that by doing so I’m breaking some writerly code of honor…straying from my faith, so to speak…committing an act of sacrilege. Or maybe I’m just being silly.

So tonight I’m faced with this difficult question…do I keep reading a book I’m not enjoying…or do I just give up on it? Which raises more questions. What kind of book have I written…the kind that can’t be put down or the kind that can be set aside? What makes a book a place you want to stay…does it just depend on the reader or are there universal elements? I suspect it’s a bit of both.

What do you think…to finish or not to finish? And why?

