Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

I have created quite the perfect little Instagram feed for myself. It includes family and friends, of course, as well as some celebrity chefs and food photographers, and a few models who make me feel good about myself rather than bad. But the majority of the people I follow are bloggers and photographers and regular folk…who mostly live in Britain. I often marvel at how many of them seem to spend their days photographing beautiful latte art, cool cafés, gorgeous English countryside, and their daily adventures which look far from the 9-to-5 grind.

How did they get this idyllic day job? How can I get this job?

Now I have my new job starting in a couple weeks, and I’m very excited about that. But I’m thinking about years down the road. Unless they’re independently wealthy or from a well-off family, I’m presuming that most of these folks I’m following didn’t just one day start living these idyllic lives. They worked on it. They created in their blogs and photographs a world for themselves and for others to enjoy, and they stuck to it until it became something that could support them. And that takes time.

I’ve never really considered blogging for a living…it seems daunting. But I have been thinking about the proverbial five years down the road. Hopefully I’ll have one or two books published, our house will be remodeled, our debt will be paid off, we’ll be healthy and looking forward to an early retirement. I know I need to prepare for that time now. And in thinking about that, I’ve been thinking about these wonderful blogs and Instagram feeds I follow, and how I might create one for myself and, ultimately, others to enjoy. Soon this 365 day journey around the sun will be over, and I’ll be free to approach blogging anew. But we can’t all go around taking pictures of cafés, books, and whatever we see on our daily strolls…or can we? I’d certainly enjoy it. And I do know I’d like my magical blog world (as I’ll call it temporarily) to be something in line with my writing interest, namely, mystery. But that’s all I know right now.

Anybody have any ideas or suggestions?

