Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I must seem very dull to my followers right now…my writerly tasks have been rather vanilla lately. With one hand/arm it seems I can’t even come up with my usual clever metaphors…as if the injury to my arm equally affected the right side of my brain. I feel badly about that…for you, and for me. All I can do is keep reminding myself that it’s been less than two weeks since surgery and it will get better. In fact, I’m making great progress in my recovery. Mom thinks the surgeon, whom I see on Thursday to get the staples removed, will be very impressed and happy with my progress. That said, I still get tired…and rather out-of-sorts…quicker than normal. Today I went to my brother’s birthday breakfast, then briefly to the store, then started the taxes, and made a fruit salad. From just that…and the fact that the workers had the front door open all day so that it was freezing…I was drained. All I could do…and all I did…was curl up on the couch in a blanket with one of my books. Until the cats escaped…

But through it all, and for all my temporary mundanity, I haven’t missed a day of this 365 journey around the sun as a writer in pursuit of the dream, and that’s something I’m quite proud of…even if I’m not always successful at it. I can’t wait to get back to my old energy level, mobility, and schemes. I promise you, and myself, that interesting writerly endeavors and projects will soon be on the horizon. We must hold our course and not abandon ship!

