Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

I have been watching films based on books. Today I watched another, Finding Neverland. It tells the story of how J.M. Barrie wrote the play, Peter Pan. It was appropriately magical and I particularly enjoyed how it explored the theme of pretending, both as part of the creative process and as part of everyday life, as a way to deal with, and actually bring us closer to, reality.

But as much as I’ve been enjoying the films, I miss reading. It just hasn’t been that conducive an environment for reading. Have I mentioned that we have a remodel going on, amidst everything else? So today, though I should’ve been the picture of repose, sitting in my chair, arm propped up, a book in my lap, you would have soon noticed the construction tarp in front of me, flapping in the wind because the door was open, and it was freezing in the house as a result. Outside five guys were shouting and the cement truck started up with a rumble. Comical, actually, and great material, but not conducive to reading. I think I got through half a chapter.

Thankfully the guys are gone for the next couple days, while the cement sets. Therefore, the kitties will not be confined to the garage and I will have some peace and quiet…and warmth…and a chance to find my Neverland in books.

In anticipation, a couple quotes on reading…

A book is a dream that you hold in your hand.

 ~ Neil Gaiman

There are worse crimes than burning books. One of them is not reading them.

 ~ Joseph Brodsky

