Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

You get ideas from daydreaming. You get ideas from being bored. You get ideas all the time. The only difference between writers and other people is we notice when we’re doing it.”

~ Neil Gaiman

That’s what’s been happening all day…as we moved furniture and clothes, dressers and boxes, preparing for the remodel. Now it’s time to sit down and do the writing.

My goal is to go to bed with a decent, finished draft of this horror story. To me, the scary…and exciting…moment of writing any short story (especially for a contest) is when I commit to one of those ideas. I say, “Okay, right or wrong, I’m going with this one. Too bad if a better one was about to come along.”  I trust the daydreaming, subconscious process…now, I’m learning to trust the committing part. It worked in Round One…we’ll see if it works again.

