Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

I’ve spent most of my evening unintentionally wandering in circles in my house. It went something like this…

I need to put the leftover chicken away…oh, but I need to grab my phone from the other room…argh, my hair is annoying…where is my hair tie?…oh! I still need to put the chicken away…but goodness, the dining room table’s a mess and I should take those books to the bedroom…right! that’s where my cell phone’s at anway…but I still need to put the chicken away…

This is a sign of mental exhaustion.

For anyone who follows this blog closely, they’ll know that we have reached the day of the month which marks my big deadline and meeting at work. Everything I work on all month must be presented at that meeting, and must be spot-on. So, from 8 a.m. to 2 p.m. today I could hardly breathe. I felt like I was running a marathon…that I was faced with the impossible mission. It always feels like this and somehow it all always comes together, right at the last moment. (I say God shows up and works for the day…it’s the only answer.) But there’s a cost. Part of that being, I’m not left with much brain power for the rest evening…just enough to wander in circles around my house.

Thankfully, I worked on my novel for a bit early this morning. Now, I’m giving my brain a break altogether and cracking open the gorgeous London puzzle my friend gave me for my birthday.

The great irony of this post? I still haven’t put the chicken away…

