Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I’m supposed to be thinking about mystery…all things mystery…and I have been. More to come on those thoughts soon.

Tonight I want to share a commencement speech given by Debbie Millman. I stumbled upon it while reading an article on brainpickings.org. I’m including a link to the article below, but have also included an audio recording of the commencement speech here (for those of you who follow this blog via email, you will need to come to the actual blog to view it). The speech is entitled, “Fail Safe,” and is on courage and the creative life. It was exactly what I needed to hear tonight and might be what you need, as well.  I think living, in general, is a creative process. So regardless of whether you have a “creative” career or think you’re creative, these words pertain to all of us.

Start with a big, fat lump in your throat, start with a profound sense of wrong, a deep homesickness or a crazy love sickness, and run with it. If you imagine less, less will be what you undoubtedly deserve. Do what you love, and don’t stop until you get what you love. Work as hard as you can, imagine immensities, don’t compromise, and don’t waste time. Start now. Not 20 years from now, not two weeks from now. Now.

I want to end by thanking all those family, friends, and passersby who have called with, emailed, and posted kind words of encouragement. It’s humbling to have so many who believe in me and are as concerned with my creative process as I am!

Link to the brainpickings.org article which featured Debbie Millman’s speech:

http://www.brainpickings.org/index.php/2013/05/15/debbie-millman-look-both-ways-fail-safe/

