Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The NYC Midnight Short Story Challenge deadline for the first round was midnight tonight…Eastern Standard Time. I submitted my story at 6:40 p.m., before heading off to a party.

In some ways I think it was good that circumstances and other deadlines prevented me from working on the story until the final 24 hours of the round. True, it was composing itself in my head ever since I learned of the requirements, but I didn’t really start writing until last night. This forced me to do more writing, accepting, and letting go, rather than getting mired down in endless revision. This was another motivation for participating in this competition. I want to learn…to train myself…to write and accept what I’ve written. That doesn’t mean there isn’t a time, place, and necessity for revision, but I think I rely on it too heavily, instead of trusting my writing as it comes.

So the first story is submitted, and truth be told, I’m not sure it’s very good…in terms of meeting the genre requirements. It’s not very satirical or political, never mind a witty, clever combination of the two. In fact, I wouldn’t be surprised if it ended up disqualified for not properly meeting the genre requirement. But I gave it a shot, and it got me to write all day…from the morning I woke up, in fact…and it got a story out of me, whether it meets their requirements or not. So, I’m counting it as a success and patting myself on the back for a job well done, come what may.

