Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Emails and applications…secret schemes and life-changing endeavors…that’s what I’ve been up to today. Not as much as I would’ve liked, of course; in the middle of it all was a very busy work day. Now, snuggled into the couch, a kitty warming my legs and a “Midsomer Murder” on the television for background noise, I’ve discovered a fun writing site based out of England (link supplied by Oxford University’s Master’s in Creative Writing blog).

http://www.write-invite.com/write-on-site.php

Each week, it hosts a short story competition. Here’s how it works:

The competition will be opened at 5.30pm GMT every Saturday. Three themes will be given – choose your theme, pay your entrance fee, then you’ll be given the remaining time to write your masterpiece!

We will then judge the entries and choose the top three; these three stories will be available to be read and judged by all other participants anytime from the following Wednesday at 5.30pm until the Saturday at 5pm, when votes will be counted and the winner announced.

I think I’m going to try the next competition, which is this Saturday. It will give me more motivation to keep up on my New Year’s resolution…which isn’t going well, truth be told.

