Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Tomorrow night a couple of the Keys are coming over for a proper Writing Group meeting. Oh, there’ll be eating and drinking and laughing, but there’ll also be focused discussion as two of the members have submitted chapters of their current work for us to read and critique. As such, I have some reading to do tonight in preparation. Given that our last couple meetings have been more celebratory and catching-up than work, I’m looking forward to reading from my friend and peers’ current projects. I’ve come to regard critiquing as an art of its own, and one that I continue to practice at.

The holidays have my days all mixed up. Today was a long, hard day at work, and it felt like a Monday after having yesterday off. Yet, at the end of it, once again I find myself looking into two days off. I’m so grateful. I suspect tomorrow will be much more satisfying, creatively. Tonight, I’m going to curl up with some of those books from my New Year’s stack, as well as my fellow Keys’ words, and forget everything else except this:

The secret to living the life of your dreams is to start living the life of your dreams today, in every little way you possibly can.

~ Mike Dooley

