Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Marilyn Monroe

I’ll be honest…I’m very excited about the New Year…and finally being able to turn the calendar in the blue room to January. I’m also a bit overwhelmed by all the schemes and ideas I have, which is why I don’t vocalize them, or (goodness forbid) try to schedule them (we saw how well that went last time). For right now, I’ll let them float in the periphery of my consciousness, plucking one every now and then when the time is ripe or the urge comes upon me. After all, just because it’s the first day of a new year, doesn’t mean I have to start everything today!

For anyone who read my Christmas Day post, you’ll recall a photo of some of the books and journals gifted to me this season. Today I spent time creating the stack of books I will begin and continue reading into 2015. Some are on the craft of writing and a couple just for fun, but there are a few which are like treasure maps…books that give you a peek into many different authors’ lives and writings, and compel you to learn, read, search out more…biographical information, actual or longer works, documentaries. I love these types of treasure maps, allowing us a literary adventure that can take many twists and turns. This is the case with The Very Best of Early Vanity Fair and Daily Rituals and The Novel, and I will share parts of these adventures and treasure hunts from time to time in the new year.

Books

Now, I’m going to stick to my New Year’s resolution this first day of the year. I’m going to try to silence the inner critic, entice the artist child out to play, and write for just half an hour. It’s supposed to be fun…why I started writing in the first place…hopefully, it will get easier!

An Aside:

Apparently, WordPress provides annual reports. They’re quite nice. And while my blog is still relatively young and unknown, I’m very proud of my report for 2014, which I’ve decided to share here. Click the link at the bottom to view the report.

ImageProxy.mvc

Excerpt: A San Francisco cable car holds 60 people. This blog was viewed about 2,500 times in 2014. If it were a cable car, it would take about 42 trips to carry that many people.

https://writerfor365.wordpress.com/2014/annual-report/

