Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I love looking at a clock and seeing that it’s the top of the hour…2:00, 7:00, 11:00, it doesn’t matter. I also love looking at the calendar and seeing it’s the first day of the month. I love new beginnings. Why? Because they leave all mistakes in the past, offer promises of new successes…of getting it right. Of course, I always end up feeling like Jo March in Little Women: “I keep turning over new leaves, and spoiling them, as I used to spoil my copybooks; and I make so many beginnings there never will be an end.”

Like Jo, I wonder if there will ever be an end to my need for new beginnings…if I’ll ever get it right and look at the clock or calendar and just see the time or another day, not another new leaf.

Tomorrow is December 1st. During all my cooking, writing and avoiding writing today, I’ve had that in the back of mind. Tomorrow kids across the country will open the first window or door on their chosen or gifted Advent calendar. We have one too, a beautiful one of Neuschwanstein Castle, thanks to my mother-in-law. But I don’t just want to open the first window to the Castle, I want to make more of this new beginning. I’ve been glum lately. I suspect I know what I need to do to make myself feel better, and tomorrow being the first it’s the perfect opportunity for a Jo March like me to turn a new leaf.

