Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I really wish there were a dozen freshly baked cookies cooling on a rack in the kitchen right now. It’s probably a good thing there’s not…

I have reached another first with this blog…the first night I don’t actually want to write it. To be expected on a Monday…? Perhaps. But I think that’s too easy of an answer.

I’ve been writing this blog for 68 days now. That means there’s roughly 300 days left of this journey. It’s both a bit late and a bit early to want to abandon ship. The shore from which we departed is long gone, and there won’t be another in sight for the good part of a year. I suppose it’s to be expected that at times all that can be seen on the horizon are the long days ahead, but I think the blog is not a pleasant place to be today because it’s a reminder that my priorities have not been very writerly today. My reluctance to walk its deck as the proud, fierce captain I’m supposed to be is a sign that I’m not feeling very confident in my endeavor and the ship is probably drifting off course.

We can’t jump overboard and I can’t let us go adrift forever, so here’s what I’m going to do… First, I’m going to reread my About page, …the writer, the journey…. This always helps remind me why I started this blog and set sail in the first place. Second, I’m going to plan out some writerly tasks for the week. I haven’t done this for some time…letting myself go where the proverbial wind takes me, which has been working, up until now. But at a time when it’s so easy to prioritize everything else before writing and writerly tasks, I need to make a conscious effort to make these things part of each day. And lastly, I’m going to attempt to correct my course with my North Star. That’s right…Julia Cameron’s The Artist’s Way. It’s been too long since I picked it up and read even a few pages.

But before I do anything, I’m going to raid the kitchen for whatever comes closest to chocolate chip cookies…even if it’s just sugar cookie tea!

