Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Thinking over the day, I feel like it was very good for the writer in me…recuperative. After a challenging work week, I was grateful for a day in which the most dressing I did was to put on a bra and brush my teeth, the only things I ate were things I could find in the fridge and cupboards, and the only places I went were within these walls…except when I briefly threw a coat on over my sweats and accompanied my husband into the dark streets to photograph the moon tonight. He photographed the moon…I ate Vegetable Thins and kept him company.

I took care of a lot of correspondence today. Some planned and exciting to work on, though it required thought and organization. Some unexpected, but equally exciting.

Last year I attended my second Mystery Writers’ Conference at Book Passage in Corte Madera. At the Conference, in addition to three days of morning to night classes and speakers, you have the option to purchase consultations with writers, publishers, agents, and other members of the writing world. I purchased four consultations. One with the New York Times bestselling author, Cara Black (who writes an amazing mystery series set in Paris featuring Aimée Leduc); a second with another New York Times bestselling author, Rhys Bowen (who has a few different series now, my favorite still being the Her Royal Spyness series); one with agent, Kimberly Cameron; and a last with agent, Amy Rennert. The consultations are honest, intense and extremely rewarding. You get professional insights and advice on your manuscript that is hard to come by otherwise. Some lucky few even get book deals on the spot. At last year’s Conference, Amy Rennert, who represents one of my favorite contemporary mystery writers, Jacqueline Winspear (author of the internationally bestselling Maisie Dobbs series), was extremely overbooked and kindly offered to meet with me after the Conference was over. There were good reasons I didn’t attend the Conference this year but it made it less painful knowing I still had this consultation to look forward to. It seems it’s finally going to happen this week!

