Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

After reading yesterday’s post, a dear friend of mine suggested I do a gratitude list. She said that to make it “writerly” I could use alliteration. This from the same friend who, in our younger days, tried to coerce me into drinking strange concoctions of wine and vodka so she could abstain and observe the effects.

Given my friend’s twisted sense of humor, and that I had just watched the speech from “V for Vendetta” as part of my brother’s and my personal celebration of Guy Fawkes’ Day (refer to the aside at the end) I decided to pass on the alliteration, but I thought the list a good suggestion

Today being Friday, work and a night out have kept me away from all writerly tasks, except a brief discussion over dinner of a poet rediscovering his passion and success at the age of 71. It would be easy for me to fall into disquietude. As such, a “writerly” gratitude list is just the thing…a list of things for which I’m grateful as a writer, when writing or not. So I don’t go on ad nauseam, let’s make it 23 items, for the number of days remaining in this month of gratitude.

1) the feel of starting a new book…my own or someone else’s

2) the ability to drink coffee…and then more coffee

3) honest criticism

4) other people’s ideas

5) movie soundtracks…and big headphones

6) the trusty thesaurus…used wisely

7) a fine-tipped pen on thick paper

8) rainy days

9) people who believe in me

10) libraries…all libraries

11) when I get to read late into the night

12) when my fingertips fly over the keyboard

13) the company of kitties

Me & Houdini

14) people who read my stories

15) a really thin laptop

16) Oxford…just that it’s there

17) doing research…and then more research

18) that feeling of obsession when it strikes

19) going to coffee shops…all coffee shops

20) mystery series & quirky detectives

21) good documentaries

22) when I get to write in bed on a Saturday morning

23) my imagination

An Aside:

Why I will not brave alliteration tonight… one of the speeches from “V for Vendetta,” video clip beneath.

“Voilà! In view, a humble vaudevillian veteran, cast vicariously as both victim and villain by the vicissitudes of Fate. This visage, no mere veneer of vanity, is it vestige of the vox populi, now vacant, vanished, as the once vital voice of the verisimilitude now venerates what they once vilified. However, this valorous visitation of a bygone vexation stands vivified, and has vowed to vanquish these venal and virulent vermin vanguarding vice and vouchsafing the violently vicious and voracious violation of volition. The only verdict is vengeance; a vendetta held as a votive, not in vain, for the value and veracity of such shall one day vindicate the vigilant and the virtuous. Verily, this vichyssoise of verbiage veers most verbose vis-à-vis an introduction, and so it is my very good honour to meet you and you may call me V.”

