Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Something about seeing the tall straight number 1 on the calendar at the bottom of my computer always gives me a thrill. A brand new month! I’m reminded of a quote by Lucy Maud Montgomery:

Tomorrow is always fresh, with no mistakes in it.

I apply this to months and years too…even hours when necessary. Not that I’m opposed to mistakes. Mistakes in the spirit of progress and endeavor and good intention are necessary and beautiful. Mistakes due to laziness, lethargy and disregard are unacceptable.

Today, celebrations continue. Raised Catholic, I recognize today as All Saints’ Day…but I tend to gravitate towards the Dia de los Muertos (Day of the Dead) celebrations, usually creating an altar to celebrate and remember dead family members…and desperately wanting to do sugar skull face-painting. This year I did not have the opportunity to create my beautiful altar, instead quickly setting out just a couple items to honor the day and the dead…loved ones who are in my heart and mind, today and every day.

Dia de los Muertos

Now there is lots of writing and doing to be done as we prepare for the Keys to arrive at 6:30 p.m. for feasting and reading. Time to get started making beautiful mistakes in a new month and new day!

Anyone who has never made a mistake has never tried anything new.

~ Albert Einstein

