Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

There’s a pattern in my current life…the last Wednesday of the month is always the most stressful, challenging day of the entire month, every month. Everything we work for in our office culminates on that day. You either have it done, or…well, there is no other option, which is what makes it’s insane. Until 2:30 p.m. I felt like I was sprinting a marathon. After that I could barely get a coherent sentence out. All day I’ve felt like my head was in a vice and no amount of Advil would help.

Some creative people may be able to come home after a day like this and churn out good stuff. Not me. What the artist in me needs when I punch out of “real life” the last Wednesday of the month is complete indulgence and pampering…whatever she wants. This worked well today as it happened to be the final game of the World Series. It was off to our favorite watering hole to watch the local team play to win. I have to say, the two margaritas and three home runs made me feel almost normal again.

Margarita

Now I’m home. My head feels a whole lot better. The adrenalin has left my body. Our team has won and all is right in this small corner of the world! This may not seem very writerly to some, but trust me, the writer always benefits from a hard fought win (the Giants tonight and me earlier) and a night of indulgence. Just ask the ghosts of Wilde, Fitzgerald, Faulkner, and a whole slew of others…they’re around this time of year.

