Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

I often wake up with songs in my head. I think many of us do. Usually it’s because I’ve heard the song recently, but sometimes it’s completely random…or so it seems. This morning I woke up with two lines from Bastille’s “Pompeii” repeating in my head:

But if you close your eyes, does it almost feel like nothing changed at all? And if you close your eyes, does it almost feel like you’ve been here before?

Despite the other ominous lyrics that surround these lines, I’m taking it as a positive theme song for the day. Because the first thing I saw when I opened my own eyes, after my husband shouted, “Wake up sleepy head,” and threw open one of the bedroom blinds, was the most beautiful golden sunlight highlighting green leaves against a backdrop of my favorite color blue. A series of images…things I want, things I love…flashed through my head at the sight and I felt a surge of excitement about the day.

I used to wake up like this a lot. Without even noticing it happen, age, disappointment, death, the status quo has taken its toll. But every once in awhile I’ll have that same feeling again…pure hope and excitement about life and the future. Maybe that’s why the two lines are playing in my head today. I closed my eyes last night and when I opened them this morning I was once again that girl who’s going to set the world on fire.

With all this in the back of my head, I’m bound for San Francisco to meet with the salon of women writers that I’m fortunate enough to be a part of. We meet in the beautiful Victorian home of one of the women, just blocks away from Golden Gate Park. Often we do a “read about,” reading from whatever project we’re working on, but we also discuss our writing processes and what efforts we’re making to share our creations with the rest of the world. I haven’t decided what I’m going to do today…read the next chapter in my novel or just talk. Given that my novel now needs additional revisions which will change that chapter, I’m leaning towards the latter. I appreciate these women, who are more experienced than I am and have pushed me in the right direction when I’ve been stuck. It’s true that sometimes I come home feeling a bit beat up…not because they’re overly critical…but because they tell me the truth. As we know…that’s a precious gift in the creative world…but it can also be a hard one to accept.

I might go early, enjoy the gorgeous fall day in San Francisco, wander the park for a while, and listen to those lines repeating in my head.

