Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I can literally hear the clock ticking. And I have done nothing…no writing, no emails, no interesting research or reading. I have gone to work, done the dishes, cooked dinner, written Halloween cards, and played a game of chess. But now it’s eight o’clock and I feel like the kid with a huge paper due the next day and no idea what it’s about. And, to top it off, all I want to do is curl up in my pajamas and watch TV…

But I’m not that kid and all is not lost. After all, it’s only eight o’clock, and I have received my first couple issues of Saplingthe e-newsletter put out by Black Lawrence Press which I subscribed to a couple weeks ago and which highlights contests, small presses, literary magazines and more. I’ve been looking forward to reading through these; so, I think I’ll make myself a cup of pumpkin chai and start there. Almost as good as TV…

As for writing, I’m still enjoying thinking about my random objects story for our next Writing Group meeting. I have a setting that I like (and will work with the strange objects I got), a few characters, and a loose storyline. With a short story that has strict guidelines (in this case: specific objects have to appear and it can only be 1,000 words), I find that the longest part of the writing process is the thinking beforehand. And it’s actually my favorite part, of any writing…letting the characters introduce themselves, seeing a world manifest out of nothing, hearing snippets of dialogue and inner thoughts. I don’t have visions of the past or future, but I wonder if it’s similar. I only sit down and actually write once I pretty much know the entire story already…at least the general outline and scenes.

Alright, putting the chai on the stove…

