Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Glasses of red wine and leftover ice cream cake. “Master and Commander” soundtrack in my ears and keyboard under my fingertips. Golden sunlight slanting in through windows and my guys (kitties and man) scattered throughout the house. No complaints on this Sunday.

Kitchen table

The words have returned, snuggled back deep into my heart and head. They’ve revealed they didn’t go “walkabout” because we were writing too much…they left because they felt neglected. I suspected as much. I have decided that each day, along with relaying my writerly task, I will also mention what creative writing I’ve done…or will be doing. To live the life of a writer, both must be diligently attended to.

I’m thinking of the Keys today. In two weeks’ time we will be gathering at my house…to celebrate Samhain, All Saints’ Day, the season, our writing, our friendship, anything and everything. I will be sending them all a message tonight as I start to consider what fall feast I will create, how to decorate, and what story I shall write from the random items I carried home in the crumpled Whole Foods’ bag after our last meeting. Upon seeing what items I got, I had to laugh…they were exactly what that particular friend would choose and so not what I would choose. But that’s what is wonderful about these sorts of “assignments.” For someone who doesn’t like rules, I’m drawn to them because they often bring out my greatest creativity and work. Lining up the items in front of me now and figuring out how to outwit them!

An Aside:

Last week I was nominated to be part of the “One Lovely Blog Award” by fellow blogger and creator of the site, My Sweet Delirium. As she puts it, the award is “really just kind of a fancy blog hop,” and it comes with a stiff challenge:  

– Share 7 Lovely Facts about myself

– Link to 15 blogs (or as many as possible) that I enjoy reading. 

– Nominate the authors of those 15 blogs to participate and do the same, linking back to the original Lovely blog.

Just as rules are meant to be outwitted, challenges & honors must always be respected. Grateful to be nominated and starting to think of my seven lovely facts and fifteen blogs. Look for that in the next week or two.

