Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

It’s supposed to rain today and I’m glad for it, as it matches my mood this morning.

Today will be a day of leftovers, literally and figuratively. Once again there are bananas that need to be made into banana bread and all sorts of other items in the fridge that I think will go into a quiche. Cooler weather, grayer skies and things to bake are just what I need. I have reaffirmed through a growing despondency that reading too much of the news is not especially good for my writerly spirit. I’m feeling the cumulative effects of being home for three days last week, followed by the weekend, with too much devouring of world news’ sites. It’s very important to keep abreast of what is happening in the world, but it’s a dangerous thing for some creative souls, namely mine. It leaves me feeling crushed and a tad obsessive and, generally, manipulated. The challenge is that I have two separate email accounts that deposit me onto MSN’s homepage when I log out. I’m not trying to put my head in the proverbial sand but I need a break. So I’m going to try and X out of that homepage as quickly as possible, bake comfort foods and think happier thoughts. My protagonist is already depressed enough when my book starts…

As for the figurative leftovers, I have decided on my first business card to try out and will get those ordered today. I have emails to answer and send, new followers whose blogs I’d like to check out, a book to continue reading, and all those literary magazines I need to finally submit to, motivated as I am from the weekend’s panel. I think I’ll go stand in front of my whiteboard with my cold cup of coffee now and decide how I will tackle the Suggestion today.

