Tags

, , , , , , ,

Today’s title refers to a time in my life when I was desperately in need of a change, but wasn’t brave enough to make it happen. One evening, I accidentally answered my cell phone when I thought I was silencing it, and someone overheard something they shouldn’t have. As a result, I got the change I needed…in a rather unexpected, traumatic way better suited to Carrie Bradshaw in Sex and the City...but it was the best thing that could’ve happened.

Still, I learned from that event that if you wait too long, God / the Universe / whatever you want to call that divine presence that seems to push and prod us along, will step in and take things into his / her / its own hands…and you’ll get that change you need, but maybe not the way you would have preferred. Now, this can be spiritually reaffirming, but I also think we should all try to be a bit braver…at least I wish I had in that instance, perhaps resulting in a little less pain for all involved.

Today’s plan was to submit short stories to all those literary magazines I researched, and count that as my writerly act for the day. However, I’ve decided to count something else that has, seemingly, nothing to do with writing. I’m not going to go into details, because I’m actually a bit superstitious and don’t want to jinx anything, but let’s just say that I’ve started to get the feeling God is going to reach for the phone again. This time it’s a completely different scenario, but the essence is the same…a change needs to be made. While I’m not opposed to divine intervention, I want to brave and take the steps, as small as they might be at first (I’ll leave big and dramatic to the Divine), in the direction I would like to go.

A bit mysterious, but tonight you’ll just have to trust me that, while the small act I did today was not related to writing, per se, and nothing may come from it, it was brave, it will benefit my writing in the long run, and it might save God from having to answer the phone…at least for now.

 

